
NAME CHANGE INSTRUCTIONS 

THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS ARE FOR ADULT NAME CHANGE ONLY 

To fill for a name change in Family Court you will need to provide the following 

two documents: 

**First** 

*DSS Form 3072 (sample enclosed) 

 

Mailed To: South Carolina Department of Social Services 

     Attention: Cashier 

     1535 Confederate Avenue 

                   Post Office Box 1520 

     Columbia, South Carolina 29202-1520 

 

Make sure you send a self-addressed stamped envelope & cost of Eight dollars, 

$8.00 by cashier’s check or money order.  Forms will be returned in the mail.  

**Second** 

*Contact SLED at (803)896-1443 and request a Name Change Packet, which will 

include the Records Check Form (sample copy enclosed) and Fingerprint Card.  

When packet arrives in the mail, take Fingerprint Card to local law enforcement 

center and get fingerprints done. (Call your local law enforcement for dates and 

times this may be done and fees may apply) 

Fill out the Sled forms and mail them, the fingerprint card and twenty five 

dollars ($25.00) cashier’s check or money order to the address provided on the 

paperwork.  

Mailed To: SLED Records 

                    Post Office Box 21398 

                    Columbia, South Carolina 29221-1398 

Make sure you send a self-addressed stamped envelope) Forms will be returned 

in the mail.  

 

The above two requests may take four to six weeks.   



*Once all of the above requested information has been received by you 

continue to the next step.  

*Fill out the following forms: Family Court Coversheet, Petition for Name 

Change, Verification, Name Change Information Sheet and Hearing Request.  

*Make a copy of your Birth Certificate to be filed.  

* Bring all of the above documents and reports with original and one (1) copy 

along with one hundred and fifty dollars, cash, cashier’s check or money order.  

Also, provide a self-addressed stamped envelope with these documents and 

when the hearings scheduled a notice will be mailed. Your hearing notice will be 

on yellow paper.  

 

*On the day of the hearing bring the following to court: 

Motion & Order Information Coversheet (form SCCA 233F) 

Order and Certificate of Name Change and Amendment of Birth Record form.  

 

 *Make sure to arrive early for court. A copy of the Court Dress Code has been 

included in the package please remember to following the guidelines. Hearing 

are heard on the second floor please check in at the desk with one of the 

bailiffs. Your case will be called when the judge is ready. At the end of the 

hearing you’ll pass the forms you have with you to security to be given to the 

judge for their signature. This will be returned to you and you’ll take it to the 

Clerk of Court to be processed. (Clerk of Court-Family Court located on the first 

floor) 

 

Per Administrative Judge all Reports Must be 

Requested Within Three Months of Filing. 

 

 

  


