MONCKS CORNER, S.C. – (Tuesday, May 23, 2023) – On Monday, May 22, 2023, Berkeley County cut the ribbon on its new Welcome Center site in Moncks Corner. The Welcome Center is located inside the historic 18th century Nesbitt House at 1004 Highway 52. The facility houses the County’s Parks and Recreation Department, Tourism Department, and Farm and Land Services, as well as an Explore Charleston office. The facility previously housed Berkeley County Chamber of Commerce but has been unoccupied for at least the last two years.
Herrington LLC conducted architectural and engineering services for the project. KD-COM performed renovations, which included removing the existing framing on the back and sides of the house, due to severe water damage and rot. Other work included bringing the building’s structural integrity and electrical system back up to code; placing new framing supports on the second story; making the first floor ADA-compliant, including adding an ADA-compliant restroom for staff and guests; reconstructing the rear addition to ensure it’s more structurally sound and energy-efficient; applying new stucco to the exterior and sides of the house; repainting the entire structure. Locally-owned small business, Dream Home Investors, LLC, constructed the front sign, which includes plaques created by Berkeley Monument, another locally-owned small business.
Other in-house work, completed by Berkeley County Facilities and Grounds, included removing and rebuilding the structure’s columns. The County’s Roads and Bridges team paved the parking lot, established a concrete walkway, and placed sod on the property’s front lawn. Renovations to the structure first began in July 2022. Soon after, work was briefly halted due to structural issues discovered during construction. The County then worked with a structural engineer; and work began again in January 2023.
Total cost of the project is $368,550. Funding stemmed from the Berkeley County Accommodations Fee, the Charleston Visitors Center, and the S.C. Department of Revenue.
The Nesbitt House was built in 1725 by Alexander Nesbitt as part of Dean Hall Planation, the current site of Berkeley County’s Cypress Gardens park in Moncks Corner. In 1967, the house was discovered in the woods and relocated to its current spot at the former Old House Tract Plantation on Highway 52. The home’s restoration was completed in 1968.
“This renovation project has been a labor of love for our County. We were proud to revamp this beautiful, historic home and now showcase it to all, as it welcomes people to our great County. It will also serve locals and tourists alike as an informational hub for all things pertaining to Berkeley County’s history; recreational hotspots and happenings; and other tourism-related items. On behalf of County Council, we hope everyone will stop by this Welcome Center to learn more about Berkeley County.” -Berkeley County Supervisor Johnny Cribb
“Berkeley County has a rich history that we hope will be celebrated and remembered for generations to come. The establishment of this Welcome Center, which will also house our Parks and Recreation Department, Tourism Department, and Farm and Land Services, is just another positive step in preserving our past while looking forward to our future.” -Heather McDowell, Berkeley County Parks and Recreation Director
-Prepared by the Berkeley County Public Information Office-