Berkeley County is accepting applications for funding from state accommodations tax funds. In order to be considered, the application must be submitted online during the application cycle (August 1-31, 2023) and received by 5 p.m. on Thursday, August 31, 2023. 

No faxed or email applications will be accepted. Late or incomplete applications will also not be accepted.

If you have any questions, please contact Rachel Knight at  or 843-719-4995.

Required Documents

  • Budget – Provide a complete budget for your project/event listed including all funding sources.
  • The Internal Revenue Service tax status determination letter
  • Detailed marketing / advertising plan for project/event
  • Organization’s latest financial statement
  • List of applicant’s board members

Additional information or supporting documents are welcomed along with the mandatory requirements.

Funding Matrix for EventsGrant FundingAttendance
First Time Events with proposed BudgetUp to $1,000< 100
Small-Size, established Events with Proposed BudgetUp to $1,000100-1,000
Mid-Size Events with Proposed BudgetUp to $2,5001,000-5,000
Large Events with Proposed BudgetUp to $5,0005,000-10,000
Mega-Event with Proposed BudgetUp to $10,00050,000-100,000

PLEASE NOTE: If you received Accommodations Tax funding in 2022, a final report including receipts will need to be emailed/turned in to the Berkeley County Tourism Director no later than December 31, 2023. If you have not spent your awarded 2022 A-Tax funds yet and decide to apply for 2023 A-Tax funding, the funding of your 2023 project will be contingent on your 2022 report.

Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee

NamePositionIndustryAppointed by
Council member
Ms. Kim Bennett Brown Hospitality/LodgingJ. Whitley
Mr. Tom Curtis CulturalJ. Schurlknight
Mrs. Stephanie Goodwin Hospitality/LodgingC. Pinckney
Mr. Troy DielChairmanHospitalityB. Cox
Mr. Keith Gaines LodgingJ. Whitley
Mr. Tommy HallVice ChairmanHospitalityJ. Whitley
Ms. Tara McConnell Hospitality/LodgingT. Newell

Comments are closed.